June 15, 2024
New TikTok Profile Views History Feature Disappoints Some Users—But, Why? Here

New TikTok Profile Views History Feature Disappoints Some Users — Here’s How To Turn It Off

The new TikTok profile view history disappoints some users. The social media giant released this feature so that people can see who is visiting their profiles.

(Photo : Photo by MANJUNATH KIRAN/AFP via Getty Images)
An Indian mobile user browses through the Chinese owned video-sharing ‘Tik Tok’ app on a smartphone in Bangalore on June 30, 2020. – TikTok on June 30 denied sharing information on Indian users with the Chinese government, after New Delhi banned the wildly popular app citing national security and privacy concerns.

This in-app tech is not really new. LinkedIn already has this feature. The profile view history in LinkedIn is already activated after you successfully create an account.

Meanwhile, the version in TikTok needs to be manually activated. The app’s new feature is designed to show all the users that viewed your account.

But why do some users dislike the new TikTok profile views history?

Why TikTok Profile Views History Disappoints Some Users

According to HITC‘s latest report, some TikTok users are not happy with the new feature since it exposes their stalking habits.

New TikTok Profile Views History Feature Disappoints Some Users—But, Why? Here's How To Turn It Off

(Photo : Photo Illustration by Drew Angerer/Getty Images)
In this photo illustration, comedian Sarah Cooper’s page is displayed on the TikTok app is displayed on an Apple iPhone on August 7, 2020 in Washington, DC. On Thursday evening, President Donald Trump signed an executive order that bans any transactions between the parent company of TikTok, ByteDance, and U.S. citizens due to national security reasons.

Also Read: TikTok Self-Defense Trend: Experts Now Concerned About iPhone Taser and Other Dangerous Phone Accessories

Aside from this, the feature also has a limitation. ScreenRant reported that the new profile views history feature only works if the users visiting your account also use the new in-app function.

This means that you can’t see the users stalking you if the feature is not turned on on their ends. Because of this, stalkers can easily avoid getting tracked by just turning off their profiles views and history.

As of writing, TikTok hasn’t confirmed yet if it will release a new version that has no limitations, which is something like the one offered by LinkedIn.

Turning On and Off TikTok Profile Views History

If you want to activate the new feature, all you need to do is visit your account. From there, you will see an “eye” icon located at the top of your screen.

Click that option to access the new in-app function. After that, just tap on the “Turn on” feature.

Once you activate the new feature, you will see the users that are visiting your account for the past 30 days. TikTok also said that only you could view the individuals stalking your profile.

When turning it off, you need to click the “eye” symbol again. After that, just choose the “turn off” option to deactivate the new function.

Meanwhile, the TikTok iPhone document scan trick previous went viral.

On the other hand, a TikToker recently revealed four new iPhone tricks that most users are unfamiliar with.

For more news updates about TikTok and other social media platforms, always keep your tabs open here at TechTimes.